• January 23, 2018
UIC College of Dentistry and Loyola Alumni to Gather at Reunion on April 20


UIC College of Dentistry and Loyola University Chicago dental alumni will gather at the 2018 College of Dentistry Reunion at Carlisle Banquets, 435 E. Butterfield Rd. in Lombard, IL, Friday, April 20.

Tickets are $100 before Friday, March 2, and $125 after that date. An open bar reception will begin at 6:30 p.m., with dinner at 7:30 p.m.

Reunion 2018 celebrates all members of DDS and specialty programs whose graduation years ended in a “3” or “8.” Special recognition will be given to the Classes of 1968, 1978, and 1993.

 Outstanding Achievement Awards will be presented to several individuals.

Dr. Keith E. Alley, DDS and MS '68; PhD ’72, will receive the Distinguished Dental Alumnus Award. Dr. Alley has had a distinguished career as a faculty member and administrator at Case Western Reserve University, The Ohio State University, and the University of California-Merced. During his tenure at UC-Merced he was Vice Chancellor for Research, Dean of Graduate Studies, Executive Vice Chancellor, and Provost.

Dr. Mark C. Baker, ’77, Endodontics ’84, University of California San Francisco GPR ’78, will be conferred the Dr. E. Lloyd Du Brul Faculty Achievement Award. Dr. Baker is currently a Clinical Associate Professor of Endodontics and has been on the faculty since 1984. Dr. Baker has been part of the Endodontic Pre-Patient Care course for 33 years, serving as course director for 18 years.

Dr. Denise D. Hale, ’88, will earn the Dr. F. William Towner Organized Dentistry Activity Award. She is highly active with the American Dental Association, Illinois State Dental Society, Dental Lifeline, and Chicago Dental Society. She is President of Dent-Il-Pac. Dr. Hale formerly taught at the Loyola School of Dentistry, and now is on the faculty of the UIC College of Dentistry.

Dr. William B. Hamel III, ’83, will receive the Dr. Irwin B. Robinson Presidential Leadership Award. After serving as a member of the UIC Dental Alumni Association Board of Directors, Dr. Hamel served as President-Elect in 2015-16 and President in 2016-18. On July 1, he will become Immediate Past-President. As a former President, he will hold a lifetime position on the Board.

Dr. Terri S. Tiersky will be conferred the Dr. Raffaele Suriano Award. Dr. Tiersky earned her DDS from Loyola in 1986 and her JD from John Marshall Law School in 1991. She is active with the Chicago Dental Society, Illinois State Dental Society, and American Dental Association, and is on the Board of the Healthcare Foundation of Highland Park.

Sign up for the Reunion here

For additional information, contact the College’s Office of Advancement at (312) 996-0485 or email DentReunion@uic.edu.

Choose Article Topics